BBO Discussion Forums: Climate change - BBO Discussion Forums

• 177 Pages +
  • « First
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Climate change a different take on what to do about it.

#3161 User is offline   Al_U_Card 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2018-August-20, 16:02

View PostCyberyeti, on 2018-August-20, 15:09, said:

yes they do, they believe it after they or someone else has proved it (I am a chemist and mathematician/statistician).

Then we have that in common (Hon.B.A.Sc. 1977). As chemists, we acknowledge the preponderance of confirmatory evidence (redox rxns always follow the calcs etc.) but anything that presents a refutation implies the need to refine or redefine our "understanding" of the underlying process. Henry's law tells us that outgassing of CO2 happens after the oceans warm which explain the paleontological record. So many aspects of climatology are so suspect that the hard science (and not the rhetoric or the sketchy interpretations) gets lost. As an adept at stats (I only used them in my process optimization work) surely you must acknowledge the dearth of valid confirmation of CAGW numerology?
The Grand Design, reflected in the face of Chaos...it's a fluke!

#3162 User is offline   ldrews 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2018-August-20, 17:01

View Posthrothgar, on 2018-August-20, 10:07, said:

Why would anyone dispute that smoking cigarette's causes cancer?

(Also why is there such a strong correlation between people who dispute that cigarettes cause cancer and are global warming skeptics?)