BBO Discussion Forums: Decisions, decisions - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Decisions, decisions your bid...

Poll: Do you (38 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you

1. 2D (21 votes [55.26%])

Percentage of vote: 55.26%

2. 3D (fit jump) (6 votes [15.79%])

Percentage of vote: 15.79%

3. 3S (splinter) (2 votes [5.26%])

Percentage of vote: 5.26%

4. 4S (void-splinter) (2 votes [5.26%])

5. 6H (2 votes [5.26%])

6. other (detail below please) (5 votes [13.16%])

Percentage of vote: 13.16%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 User is offline   Ant590 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2007-March-09, 07:55

Scoring: IMP

1 - pass - ?

• Your agreements are listed in the poll, which do you choose? and why*?
  • Would you play 4 as a void-splinter, voidwood or something else?
Cheers in advance,
Ant.

*I'm a beginner and this is not just about proving someone right-wrong, I want to know what i should be thinking here :rolleyes:

#2 User is offline   pclayton 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2007-March-09, 08:05

There are some auction where you want to take control of, and some where you want to help pard.

Are you playing 2/1? If so, then 2 is fairly obvious. When you next support pard in hearts, you will start a cue bidding auction and find out if pard has a club control. Then, and only then, should you ask for aces via exclusion key card. As an alternative, you can just cue bid and find out if pard has the K.

If a 3 fit jump is available, that probably works OK too, but the auction gets a little cramped, especially if pard re-preempts with 4.

For me, a direct 4 wouldn't be a void splinter or exclusion; it would show a string of spades; AQJ-8th and out or the like.
"Phil" on BBO

#3 User is offline   inquiry 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Interests:Bridge, what else?

Posted 2007-March-09, 08:30